Research Ethics Committee


Terms of Reference

  1. To define the University's research ethics policy
  2. To establish the University's process and procedures for providing ethical review
  3. To provide quality assurance of such procedures
  4. To ensure and monitor best practice of research ethics across the University
  5. To advise Senate regarding the University's framework, policy and procedures for ethical review
  6. To advise the Research Board on ethics components of the Code of Research Conduct and Research Ethics 


Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research and Knowledge Exchange (Chair): Professor Dame Jessica Corner

Representatives of the academic staff appointed by the Chair:

   Professor Andrew Morris - UNMC (October 2017)
   Professor Bat Batjargal - UNNC (January 2017)
   Dr Robert Houghton - Engineering (October 2018)
   Professor Stephen Jackson - Science (September 2019)
   Professor Chris Greenhalgh - Science (September 2019)
   Dr Kay Fuller - Social Sciences (September 2019)
   Dr Vince Wilson - Medicine (September 2017)
   Dr Kristian Pollock - Medicine (May 2019)
   Dr Jonathan Tallant - Arts (September 2017)

Assistant PVC Research (ex-officio) or nominee: Dr Jane Wellens

Registrar: Dr Paul Greatrix

Representative from Research and Graduate Services: Soma Mukherjee

Research Governance: Angela Shone

Director of Bio-Support Unit: Neil Yates

Postgraduate Student representative: Matt Bramley (July 2017)

2 Lay members:

   Reverend John Bentham - University Chaplaincy (July 2017)
   Peter McCracken - Human Resources (October 2018)

Secretary: Kate Miller (REGS) (secondment for Catherine Jew)

(membership updated November 2016)


Return to Committees list

Registrar's Office

Trent Building
University of Nottingham
University Park
Nottingham, NG7 2RD

telephone: +44 115 951 5761
fax: +44 115 951 5739